GOODNESS FOR THE SOUL// CHOCOLATE & ORANGE

by charprouse

Oh boy…do I love food that’s good for the soul!
A wee while back before my sailing adventure I made my family a Chocolate and Orange angel cake. And by god was it tasty!!! It was like a gorgeous slice of chocolaty heaven…
Recipe

16 oz Self raising flour
12 oz Caster sugar 
1 large orange
3 eggs
8 oz of Butter
Powdered Hot chocolate

 

Okey-dokey, lets see If I remember how I made it 🙂

Sieve the 16 0z of Self raising flour into a large bowl.
Add the caster sugar.
Mix together.
Add large table spoons of powdered hot chocolate until the mixture begins to look chocolaty…
I unfortunately cant remember how much I added to mine
Add the butter.
Mix until the mixture becomes crummy with no crazy buttery lumps.
Grate the zest of the orange and add to mixture.
Mix together.
Crack the 3 eggs in a separate bowl and whisk. Add to the mixture.
Mix together.
Squeeze the juice of the orange into a orange squeezer thing, or if you don’t have one, you can do it by hand into a bowl then sieve it to get rid of any unwanted bits.
Slowly add small amounts to the mixture. Mix together. Keep adding the juice until the mixture becomes smooth.

Presto ! you are done x
Just add the mixture to a cake tin, preheat the oven to 180 c and shove it in the oven x
if you have any left over, you can make cupcakes!
